Chris Halpin Award

Each year CAASLAR presents the Chris Halpin Distinguished Service award to an individual whose past efforts within our profession exemplifies the spirit and dedication of Chris Halpin.

Who was Chris Halpin?

Chris Halpin was employed by the State of Colorado from 1976 to September of 1992. She had been the manager of the student debt management division at CU-Boulder for 11 years prior to her untimely death in 1992.

In the Fall of 1992, CAASLAR established an organizational award in honor of Chris who in addition to being an active member of COHEAO and NACUBO, was a driving force in the creation of CAASLAR, a mentor to many of us and an inspiration to all.

The following April, a plaque was presented to CU-Boulder for the Chris Halpin Distinguished Service award. This plaque resides at Boulder. Each year the name of that year’s recipient is added and a personal plaque is presented to the recipient.

To nominate someone you think is deserving of recognition complete and submit the Chris Halpin nomination form to

Chris Halpin Award Recipients

Calendar Year Name Institution Conference Location
2022-2023 MaryAnn Enstad University of Colorado at Boulder Palisade
2022-2023 Matt Fryc ConServe Fort Collins
2021-2022 N/A
2020-2021 N/A
2019-2020 N/A
2018-2019 James Macias University of Colorado at Boulder Colorado Springs
2017-2018 Estes Park
2016-2017 Matt Fryc Virtuoso Sourcing Group Black Hawk
2015-2016 Lindsey Manning Colorado Mesa University Golden
2014-2015 Christine Randall University of Colorado at Boulder Vail
2013-2014 Karen Reddick National Credit Management Beaver Creek
2012-2013 Rebecca Bashor University of Denver Boulder
2011-2012 Jennifer Emmett University of Denver Keystone
2010-2011 Jon Brude Pueblo Community College Estes Park
2009-2010 Suzanne Webster University of Denver Estes Park
2008-2009 Becky Gonzales University of Denver Estes Park
2007-2008 Geri Landwehr University of Northern Colorado Beaver Creek
2006-2007 Beneranda Chacon Adams State College Beaver Creek
2005-2006 Debbie Hatch University of Northern Colorado
2004-2005 Susie Jacobs University of Colorado at Boulder
2003-2004 Joe Tacoronte University of Northern Colorado
2002-2003 Maxine Castillo Colorado School of Mines
2001-2002 Marcy Konig University of Northern Colorado
2000-2001 Heidi Scott University of Colorado at Boulder
1999-2000 Neal Lujan Colorado State University
1999-2000 Heidi Scott University of Colorado at Boulder
1998-1999 Virginia Baca-Devens Colorado State University
1997-1998 Greg Hoppes University of Colorado at Boulder
1996-1997 Carolyn Winchester University of Colorado at Colorado Springs
1995-1996 Marlene J. Kelly Colorado State University
1994-1995 Mari Aguirre University of Colorado at Denver
1993-1994 Carla William Colorado State University
1992-1993 David D. Phelps University of Northern Colorado